#6 Birds of a Feather

Feather Parts (Wikimedia Commons)

I’ve been interested in falconry for a while now, although given it’s really more of a lifestyle or art than a mere hobby and it’s virtually impossible practice while technically legal in Australia, my chances of flying any form of raptor unfortunately approaches very close to zero…

This interest helped me write the short Arab Falconry Insert for The Cradle and the Crescent (extrapolating somewhat from the ideas presented in Lords of Men), something I wish I could have expanded on if we’d had words, but regardless of any regrets, the research for that short section was a whole lot of fun and I collected a surplus of ideas and reference material that I knew I’d end up using at some stage.

As further background, the concept of the Milvi Antiquiti, the group of Redcaps that transform into raptors to deliver their messages, has always been a fascinating one to me. The concept however creates an essential problem for the standard Redcap build – what do the Redcaps that can shapeshift into kites using non-Hermetic magic (the Skinchanger Virtue or similar inherent magical powers from Blood of Heroes or hedge magic effects) use for magic items? Just using the available spell levels of enchantment for transformation magic seems inflexible, even at the price of assigning a Minor Virtue to account for the shapeshifting role.

Sure, there are some ideas in the ArM5 corebook that were later expanded on in the Bjornaer section of Houses of Hermes: Mystery Cults for dealing with magic items that shift with their wearer or are usable in animal form, but the focus was not really on items useful to Redcaps IMO. I’d therefore started started doodling around with developing the Lady of Doves, a Mythic Companion Redcap concept themed around doves based on some hedge magic ideas of Timothy’s from an upcoming supplement, and the various magical avian accessories grew organically out of that.

The 30 Redcap Magic Items NaGaDeMon attempt gave me a reason to develop these further, although I hadn’t quite worked out what I was trying to achieve with the concepts – I realise now that more than just providing a “shopping list” for Redcap characters I wanted to push the boundaries of the idea of Redcap equipment beyond the standard magic cloak / magic food preparation device / magic  travel device combination that seems to have become a default.

I think these avian items go some way towards achieving this, but I haven’t stopped there and have some wilder ideas still to come…

3 thoughts on “#6 Birds of a Feather”

  1. These are really interesting. Thanks for posting. The process of Imping is pretty unbelievable…

    1. Do you mean the actual imping procedure or the mechanics? Truth is stranger than fiction… the weird thing is that imping is common (particularly in falconry, I need to find a better online link as some of the research is from a book unavailable in electronic format).

      1. The actual imping procedure… Fascinating.
        I love the idea of cropstones, and using voice range for that attack is great. 🙂
        I wonder at the transformation potential of leg rings. You mention the mage could slip it onto a little toe, which I understand…. but how would the bird slip it onto his leg after transformation? Would it not be better to instill a muto effect that allows the ring to enlarge and shrink upon command, always worn on the ankle?

Leave a Reply

